Being arrested for Driving Under the Influence (“DUI”) can impact your life forever. Florida’s DUI laws are extremely harsh. Depending on your background and the facts of the case, a DUI conviction can involve mandatory jail sentences, mandatory driver’s license revocations and many other penalties.
In addition to your DUI case, you are likely also facing an administrative proceeding with the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles. It is critical that an experienced DUI attorney handle your case immediately. Under Florida law, you generally have 10 days to fight the suspension from the Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles. If you wait past the 10 days following your DUI arrest, you may waive the ability to fight your suspension.
We have the knowledge and skill to handle both of these important matters for you.
A maximum jail time of 6 months, or 9 months if the breath or blood alcohol level was above a .15 or a minor was in the car.
Mandatory probation for up to one year.
A mandatory driver’s license suspension of 6 months, up to 1 year.
A mandatory minimum of 50 hours of community service.
A mandatory ignition interlock device if the breath or blood alcohol level was above a .15 or a minor was in the car.
A DUI Counterattack School must be completed.
A Victim Impact Panel course must be completed.
Fines of between $500.00 and $2,000.00 depending on the facts of the case.
If you have had a prior DUI conviction, it is possible that you are facing mandatory jail time and more significant consequences.
We have the experience to fight your DUI case. There may be defenses available to every aspect of your case that can get your case possibly reduced, or even dismissed. Call today to discuss your options with an experienced lawyer that will fight for you.